Liz 3 months ago by Liz Adams

A Little Peek into what a Typical Day Looks like Around Here

Shop the post: Abercrombie Mom Jeans (wearing a 4 SHORT), Abercrombie Side Snap Sweatshirt c/o

To be honest, my days are a hot mess. My days of organization and routine are sadly a distant memory. I swear I was a very planned person before I had kids and somehow in three years I’ve turned into this fly by the seat of my pants, procrastinator who somehow manages to get it done. Most days I call myself a robot. I don’t remember what I did but I did it and I got it done and my kids are bathed and asleep in their cozy beds and I got them there. What happened from point A to point B is usually hazy. That is the exciting part of owning your own business and being a mom. Sometimes you feel like superwoman, sometimes it looks like I slept in a dumpster and that’s ok! I’ve learned to appreciate all of the days.

Shop the post: Abercrombie Mom Jeans (wearing a 4 SHORT), Abercrombie Side Snap Sweatshirt c/o

I get so many questions about what a day in the life looks like around here and they are all over the place (if you couldn’t tell from that intro – ha!). Charlie is in daycare 4 days a week, Jack is in daycare 3 days a week. My days with the boys are dedicated to them and my days without them are dedicated to everything that I could possibly accomplish in 8 hours. Here is what a typical day looks like…

A Day in the Life with Liz
(seriously, could I get more creative) šŸ˜‰

5:45am – Jack starts to wake up. I wish he would figure out how to sleep until 6:30 but it’s rare that he sleeps past 6am.

6/6:15am – get Jack out of bed, change his diaper and go downstairs to make him a bottle and myself a cup of coffee. 

6:15/6:30am – Charlie usually hears us and wakes up around this time too! He will mosey downstairs at his leisure and Dave usually follows.

6:30-8am – watch the news, drink coffee, play with the boys and make breakfast. Right now the boys are really into waffles with peanut butter and Applegate chicken + maple breakfast sausages with some sort of fruit. They also always have a probiotic pouch mixed in water.

During this time I usually check in with Carolyn and see what the day/calendar looks like for work! But I try not to do much work with the boys around.

**On Tuesdays and Thursdays I leave our house at 6:30 to workout with my trainer from 7-8am.

8:15am – take boys to daycare.

8:30am – take a shower and get ready for the day.

**if boys are home, we usually go to the gym with them at 8am and they go to the kids club. They love it! 

10am – finally sit down at my computer, check in with my manager and chat with Carolyn on Slack. 

10:30am-12pm – emails, phone calls, send any new contracts to Dave for invoicing (he is helping me a little bit these days!), work on blog posts for the next couple days.

12pm – break for lunch! A few favorites include an antipasto chopped salad featured in this post, tapas plate with hummus, veggies, rice crackers, salami, cottage cheese, etc. or turkey lettuce wraps!

1pm – take photos for the blog if needed, more emails, more writing posts.

3-4:30pm – run any necessary errands for the day or I usually book any necessary appointments during these hours.

4:45-5pm – pick up boys from daycare! Dave usually gets home around this time if he is in the city!

5:30pm – home and make dinner for Charlie and Jack. This could be anything from hotdogs, chicken nuggets, tacos, salmon – I usually try to cook a mini version of what Dave and I plan to eat. I would love to eat more often as a family but the boys are always starving by the time they get home from daycare that I end up cooking for them a little earlier. 

6pm – we all hang out in the family room, play games and chat and hang!

6:30pm – Jack takes a bath and gets into pajamas while Charlie keeps playing. I usually get in my pajamas and take off my makeup/do my skincare routine here too.

6:45pm – Jack gets his milk and is in bed by 7pm. I have usually started dinner for Dave and I at this point depending on who gives Jack a bath.

7:15pm – Dave and I eat dinner and Charlie usually sits with us!

7:45pm – Charlie takes a bath and gets ready for bed! We read him 2 books, tell him a story, sing him 2 songs and rock him for 2 minutes and then put him in bed. Haha, that’s what I do I’m not sure what Dave’s routine is with him exactly. It can be 20 minutes or 45 minutes depending on how chatty Charlie is that day šŸ˜‰

**Dave and I usually switch off putting boys to bed. Some nights I have more work to do at night so Dave will put Charlie to bed since he can take awhile – ha. 

8:15pm – Charlie is in bed and Dave and I decide if we are awake enough to watch a show or a movie. I usually open my lap top and finish tomorrow’s post, check social media and catch up on emails before I can call it a day!

9:30-10pm – time for bed for us! Goodnight!

Somedays are not this work focused at all, somedays I never get out of my pajamas and I’m knee deep in laundry all day. Somedays I workout and don’t shower until 4pm and somedays we shoot at 9am and I look like a functioning human all day! And I feel great! Haha. It’s all about balance and that’s exactly what I try to achieve every day. 

On the days that I’m with the boys, Jack naps from 9-10:30/11am so we are usually home for a bit in the mornings and then we venture out to the library, run errands, grab lunch or just hang with the kids! Then both Charlie and Jack nap around 1:30-3:30/4pm. Then we get ready to cook dinner and relax at home. My days with the kids are much more relaxed and slower paced. 

The Best Mom Jeans

Trust me when I say that these are the most flattering and comfortable mom jeans, ever! I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect distressed pair and was so happy to find these. I’m wearing the ripped light medium wash and they are only $44!

Shop Now

One things for sure, I try to always be as comfortable as possible! I shared these mom jeans on my IG Stories on Sunday (saved under my style highlights!) and you guys loved them just as much as I do! They are so so comfortable and cute and an awesome price. I’m wearing a 27 (my usual size) in the SHORT – I’m 5’4″ for reference. I’ve been living in them around the house! Paired with the coziest fleece sweatshirt with the cutest side snaps. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – Abercrombie is making a comeback and I’m here for it!! Shop a few more favorites from their new arrivals below:

*I get a ton of questions about Abercrombie’s sizing and I’ve found that overall they are very true to size! I assumed in the beginning that I needed to size up but I typically wear a small in tops and a 4/27 in bottoms!

What does your day look like? Do you work in an office? Have kids? Tell me a little about yourself in the comments!!

A huge thank you to Abercrombie for partnering on this post!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  1. I loved reading about your routine! Our days are so different. I have a 9-6 job so basically all of my day is spent stuck in the office!

    Charmaine Ng | Architecture & Lifestyle Blog
    http://charmainenyw.com

  2. I LOVE this! As an entrepreneur myself, I understand how every day can be completely different and some days I realize when I’m getting in bed that I haven’t washed my hair, oh well.

    I love the floral prints next to your couch. Would you be able to share where you got those?

  3. I work in an office/library from 8:30 am to somewhat around 4 pm! 50 minutes away from my home, so I am quite some time in a train and tram/bus. At home I like to do something creative – I love painting and handlettering šŸ˜Š two days a week Iā€˜m going to the gym after work.
    Iā€˜m 25 so no kids yet! šŸ˜Š

  4. I’m a high school teacher, so my day starts at 5AM and I’m out the door by 6AM and at my desk by 7AM. Though the school day ends at 2PM, I’ll usually stay at my desk and continue working until around 4-4:30PM. On those days, I’ll be home by 5-5:30PM, cook dinner and shower by 6:30-7PM, tackle another hour or two of grading and planning, and then it’s lights out at 9:15PM. It’s a fairly grueling weekday schedule, so on Friday nights I’m usually asleep by 7:30PM ā€” such a grandma!

  5. Reading your post–and your blog in general–makes me so excited about becoming a mom of two in just a few short weeks! Here’s hoping I can tackle a career and “momming” at the same time like you do.

  6. I loved this post! Your home looks beautiful. I’m sorry if you’ve shared in the past, but where are the wall prints from?

  7. I love a good notebook (and school supplies in general), and your notebook in this post looks great. Do you mind linking it too?

  8. Our oldest (she’s 4) goes to preschool 4 1/2 days a week. 2 of those days I teach at the school in the nursery (it’s a Mothers Morning Out program) and our youngest who is 9 months tags along. The other 2 days she’s at school it’s just him & me, which I like. And that way we all have 1 day together with no school. Routine is pretty much out the window except for pick-up/drop-off times, ha! Oh, and afternoon nap time for the baby…we definitely stick to that one! šŸ˜‰